Navigate Up


What Qualifies for CPE?

The short answer is, it depends!  It depends upon which certification you need the CPE to qualify for.   CPE requirements are typically defined by the organization granting the certification, such as the state licensing department for CPA, the IIA for CIA, and ISACA for CISA, CISM, and CGEIT (there’s a few acronyms for you!).

NASBA (National Association of State Boards of Accountancy) maintains a listing of entities whose courses, teleconferences, etc. qualify for CPE.  Each state or professional association can elect to recognize the NASBA listing.  The IIA is an approved CPE provider on the NASBA listing for “Group Internet-Based, Group Live, Self-Study” based CPE.  It does not, however, include webcast replays.  This is only an issue if the regulating body requires the host to be NASBA certified.

The State of Nebraska Board of Accountancy is responsible for regulating CPAs and recognizes NASBA qualified CPE.  In addition, they have a CPE approval process which can be used to qualify other CPE credits (such as the IIA webcasts and internal training) that are not included on the NASBA listing.  Their CPE requirements, including a form to request approval of non-NASBA CPE, is available at this link:  This approval process is required for all non-NASBA certified training.  I am aware of at least one IIA Aksarben member who has followed this process for an IIA webcast replay and it has been approved.

IIA Aksarben CPE certificates are issued by the Membership Chair and can be requested after attendance at one of our Chapter sponsored events.  See contact information at the Chapter Leadership page below.

More information on CPE requirements for various certifications are available at the links below:

IIA CPE requirements:

NE Board of Accountancy requirements for CPA certification:

ISACA CPE requirements for CISA certification: