Navigate Up
GAC.pngChicago.png

Committee's Formation
The Government Advisory Committee was formed in 2014 to assist the IIA Chicago Chapter in identifying ways to serve government auditors more effectively.  The committee reports to the Chapter's Board of Governors. The goal and objective of this committee is to develop programs and events such as roundtable discussions over emerging issues and recent news impacting internal auditing in the government sector. Some topics discussed will focus on economic conditions, financial management and fiscal pressures facing governmental entities. Special emphasis will be on government ethics, auditor independence, detecting and preventing fraud, waste and abuse or improper payments. 
 
Committee’s Activities
The Committee will arrange government-specific continuing professional education (CPE) at a low cost.  The professional education activities will develop and hone the skills of auditors while allowing auditors to acquire new skills and capabilities. The Committee will coordinate network opportunities which will strengthen the government audit community.
 
Committee’s Membership
Each of the 11 members on the Committee enable governmental auditors to support the profession with an investment in their own future in governmental internal auditing. The current leaders of the Committee are:
·         Kenneth Clow, IIA District 2 Representative, Past-President of the IIA Chicago Chapter, Current Board of Governor of the IIA Chicago Chapter and Chairperson of the Government Advisory Committee  Email Contact: kclow@ymcachicago.org
·         Mark Kimmet, Committee Secretary Chairperson Email Contact: mark.kimmet@illinois.gov
·         John Caporale, Committee Marketing Chairperson Contact Information Email Contact: John.Caporale@cookcountyhhs.org
·         Cathy Pleasant,Committee Recruiting Chairperson Email Contact: cpleasant@willcountyillinois.com
·         Casey Killian, Committee Networking Chairperson Email Contact: ckillian@willcountyillinois.com
·         Catherine Fisher, Committee’s Education/Training Chairperson Email Contact: CFisher@transitchicago.com
The committee meets 4 times per year. If you are interested in being a part of the committee, please contact one of us.